Combray by Proust

Hello Everyone, welcome back to my blog. This will hopefully be my last late post as I am scrambling to catch up from joining the class a week late. The book of interest for this week is Combray by Marcel Proust. I had not heard of Proust prior to reading this so I had no expectations coming in, either good or bad. Overall I found the book to be a challenging yet rewarding read. There were definitely times where I felt myself wishing for the sentence to end and for the author to move on from seemingly trivial details. On the flip side, I also feel this longwinded style of writing is part of what makes the book unique and it might not have the same charm without it.

The plot of the book revolves around the narrator’s recollection of a time in their childhood spent at their family home in Combray, as the title suggests. One aspect of the first part I found hard to ignore is the narrator’s obsession with their mother’s kiss, and the great lengths they would go to obtain it. At times I found this obsession quite comical, like when they described walking up the stairs away from their mother as “climbing in opposition to my heart’s desire”, or when they compared preparing their bed clothes that same night to “[digging] my own grave”. These analogies seem a bit dramatic given the situation but they also sort of paint a bleak picture of the narrators state of mind at this moment in their life. It seems like this moment of their day was one of the only things they had to look forward to as a child.

Another part of the book I found fascinating is the idea that who you are as a person is the result of other people’s perceptions rather than any measurable attributes that can be said to define you. The narrator uses Swann as an example of this, and suggests that Swann was sort of a construct of his family’s incomplete notions. They go on to say that the Swann they knew as a child was more similar to the other people they knew at that time than the Swann they knew later in life, perhaps due to everyone around them at the time also being subject to their family’s perception. When I look back at people in my own life I get a similar feeling. I think time sort of has this effect, and can cause people and experiences to blend together.

The madeleine dipped in tea is sort of an iconic part of this book, so my question for the discussion is: Are there any foods from your childhood that might evoke similarly vivid memories?

7 responses to “Combray by Proust”

  1. It is true, there is a subtle irony in the way the narrator describes family situations… it is a very particular tone that combines nostalgia but also rejection of small-town customs. In some way, the novel is also an investigation into how social references are constructed at the turn of the century in France.

    Like

  2. Hi! I totally get the struggle of catching up after joining the class late. I was on the same boat. The idea that who you are is shaped by others’ perceptions is definitely intriguing, I can see how time can also play into our perceptions of people! My madeleine tipped in tea moment is quesadillas with chocolate milk!

    Like

    1. Do not tell me you dip quesadillas into chocolate milk?!

      Like

      1. Oh god no! More like a side drink haha

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I like how you picked up on the dramatics of this book because I thought it was quite funny when he was talking about digging the grave. Honestly though if I was thinking back on a memory that made me nostalgic I would probably be even more dramatic. Maybe that is the trauma in me, but I cry a lot about the past. Should get that checked.

    Like

  4. Ximena Avendano Avatar
    Ximena Avendano

    Hey 🙂
    I was really interested in how you described the interactions between the narrator and his mother as comical, I hadn’t thought of it that way before.
    Personally I always find my self reminiscing about my childhood when I eat almost any kind of soup!

    Like

  5. Hi, I also found this book to be a challenging read. I agree sometimes the way the author would describe certain situations was sometimes a bit over the top which made it quite funny to read. However, those descriptions are probably the author showcasing the true scope of the sadness and loneliness he felt at the time, so I feel a bit bad for finding them funny.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started